Logan, Be Curious!

Last weekend, I had the pleasure of hosting a first birthday party for the most adorable little guy. His name is Logan and he didn’t have a good prognosis for the future when he got here, so it was truly a blessing to be able to celebrate this milestone 🙂

sign

Mom tried to warn me that everyone falls in love with him when they meet him…I was absolutely no exception! He had me from the first time he smiled at me…my husband will just have to share 🙂

logan

Mom wanted to have the party around the theme Curious George and it turned out quite nicely, if I do say so myself 🙂 He absolutely loves Curious George and we held an open air party at our local Overton Park, with the theme “Curious Logan/Be Curious!”

pic

balloon

When I spoke with mom, there were some elements that she wanted from some of the ideas I’d researched on Pinterest. She requested the “Man in the Yellow Hat” cup and plate settings that I’d found from another Curious George party. It fit perfectly with this (popular) theme and I was delighted when some of the kids arrived and recognized the place settings!

yellow

Since it was a kids’ party and we were in the park, I wanted to keep the elements as concise and organized as possible. The lunch containers doubled as functional decor…each one contained chips, Curious George fruit snacks, a themed sugar cookie, and a napkin; each container was tied with red and white twine which held eating utensils.

box2

cookies

For lunch, there was a simple menu which consisted of hot dogs and cole slaw + the items in the lunch boxes. The drink station had sodas, fruit juices, and water; the water bottles were personalized to match the party with labels which said “Logan is One!” and “Be Curious!” The adults ended up with the fruit juice because the kids came through and swiped the caffeinated beverages. I suppose they needed the energy for the playground?

food

drink1

I also made up a scavenger hunt based on a template that was shared from Tip Junkie. I customized it based on our park, but it turned out to be futile…the playground was apparently all the entertainment the kids needed and/or wanted…

scavenger

The dessert table had a cake and cupcakes…everything in different flavors so that there was a little bit for everyone to enjoy. The confetti cake was made to match his birthday sign and was a yellow cake; the cupcakes were chocolate and strawberry, both with cream cheese icing.

logan name

cake1

cupcake

I also made a confetti smash cake for Logan. After everyone sang Happy Birthday to him, it was his turn to dig in to the cake.

smash

song

This was as smashed as his cake got. Apparently, not all one-year-olds enjoy destroying their cakes. Go figure!

smash2

It was a hot Saturday, but we had lots of shade and lots of love to go around! Everyone had a great time and the kids played to their hearts’ content.

gma

bags

Event Styling, cake, cookies, favor bags: Creating Awesomenessity!

Photography: Isaac Singleton Photography

awesome tag

Please feel free to leave a reply...